Eat Veggies, save the planet


Baked Pears for Vata Dosha
November 19, 2016, 12:11 am
Filed under: recipes

1-p10904821-p1090386It will be 2 years this January that I finished my Ayurveda module at The Natural Epicurean Academy of Culinary Arts in Austin, Texas. My fabulous teacher Charlotte Jernigan guided our class through cooking for the 3 doshas with aplomb. This recipe for baked pears is one I make again and again though I have cut down on the oil from the original.  I use the same recipe for baked apples. Fuji are my favorite these days.My 21 month old granddaughter likes this recipe.

ingredients

  • 3 pears
  • 1 TBSP of sesame oil(not toasted)
  • 1 tsp of ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground cardamom
  • 2 pinches of black pepper
  • 1 tsp sucanat

instructions

  1. Slice pears in half and place cut side up in a covered baking dish with 2 TBSP of water.
  2. Combine oil and spices together. If possible use freshly ground cardamom and black pepper and freshly grated nutmeg.
  3. Drizzle oil and spice mixture over fruit.
  4. Sprinkle with sucanat , cover and bake at 350 in a preheated oven for 30 minutes.
  5. Cool.

 

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] I made this porridge for breakfast today, I served it with my Mom’s Ayurvedic baked, spiced pears. Alma isn’t normally a huge pear fan, but she likes these baked pears, which are seasoned […]

Pingback by Creamy millet porridge with baked, spiced pears | The captious vegetarian




Leave a Reply

